Boston Troop Trip
Apr. 30 - May 2, 2004
We plan to hike the "Sons of Liberty Trail" and the "Freedom Trail", and
complete the requirements to earn the medals for both trails.
The "Sons of Liberty Trail" is about a 10 mile hike from Lexington to
Concord, Massachusetts following the “Battle Road". The trail begins
at the Battle Green in Lexington where on April 19, 1775 about 40 Minute
Men met British soldiers who were marching from Boston to Concord to confiscate
colonial cannons and arrest patriot leaders. This is the site of
the “shot heard ‘round the world”, the first battle of the American Revolutionary
War. The trail also traces part of Paul Revere's famous midnight
ride to warn local residents the British soldiers were coming, and includes
the site of his capture by British soldiers.
The "Freedom Trail" is a 2 1/2 mile (one way) walking trail to sixteen
historic sites in downtown Boston. It begins at the Boston Common
Visitor’s Booth on Tremont Street near the Park Street Station (subway)
and ends at the U.S.S. Constitution in Charlestown. The trail is
marked by a red line painted on the sidewalk that will lead you from site
to site. Depending on how much time one takes, the trail may be finished
in from three hours to a full day. If visitors linger and study the
many exhibits, a full day can be devoted to the Freedom Trail.
Schedule overview (a detailed schedule is farther below)
-Arrive at campsite in the
-Drive to the Lexington/Concord
-Hike the "Sons of Liberty
Trail" beginning in Lexington
-Eat your brown bag lunch.
-Finish hiking the trail
ending in Concord.
-Drive to Bickford's Family
Restaurant in Framingham.
-Eat supper at Bickford's
Family Restaurant in Framingham.
-Drive to campsite.
-Drive to Riverside Station
in Newton and park.
-Take the Green Line commuter
train from Riverside Station to Park Street Station in downtown Boston.
-Hike the "Freedom Trail"
beginning in Boston Common.
-Eat your brown bag lunch.
-Finish hiking the trail,
ending at the USS Constitution in Charlestown.
-Take the F4 Ferry from
Pier 4 in the Charlestown Navy Yard in Charlestown to Long Wharf in Boston.
-Take the Blue Line subway
at Aquarium Station near Long Wharf to Government Center, and then transfer
to the Green Line to Riverside Station.
-Supper on your own.
Troop 174 will tent camp on Peabody campsite at the Nobscot Boy Scout Reservation
Nobscot Road, Sudbury, MA.
Additional costs for weekend food, souvenirs, transportation, etc. to be
Bring your own food for Saturday and Sunday breakfasts and lunches.
Lunches should be quick bag lunches.
Saturday supper at Bickford's Family Restaurant, $15 per person.
$2.75 parking at Riverside Station on Sunday
$6.00 (two $3.00 subway fares) on Sunday
$1.50 ferry fare on Sunday
Discount combination ticket to three sites - Old South Meeting House, Old
State House, and Paul Revere House. Purchase tickets at either the
Old South Meeting House or the Old State House.
$3.00 children ages 5-17
Old North Church and King's Chapel
Free. Voluntary donations accepted.
What to bring - Label everything with your name
No climbing on cannons or monuments
Quiet hours 11pm to 6am
Use the buddy system
Stay with your group
No weapons, so no pocket knife
Good behavior – representing troop and BSA
Nobscot Peabody Campsite
Keep it clean.
Ground fires are allowed.
Clean the campsite Sunday before we leave.
Detailed directions from the Mass Pike, I-90: Take Mass Pike to exit
12, Route 9 East. Follow Rt. 9 through 3 sets of lights to Framingham
State College exit. At the light, take a left onto Edgell Road.
Follow Edgell Road for 3.5 miles. Camp entrance is on the left following
the Framingham Animal Hospital on the right.
The address of the Framingham Animal Hospital across the street and near
the entrance to Nobscot Boy Scout Reservation is:
Friday, Apr. 30
3:00 pm suggested departure time to drive to the Peabody campsite at the
Nobscot Boy Scout Reservation.
Directions from Yorktown Heights to the Nobscot Boy Scout Reservation
Framingham Animal Hospital
The town boundary line dividing Framingham and Sudbury goes through the
middle of the Nobscot Boy Scout Reservation near the main gate entrance.
Please be aware that the name of the northbound road in front
of Nobscot Scout Reservation is named "Nobscot Road" (in the Sudbury city
limits), and the name of that same road going southbound from Nobscot Scout
Reservation is named "Edgell Road" (in the Framingham city limits).
This explains why Nobscot is at 1 Nobscot Road in Sudbury and across the
street is the Framingham Animal Hospital at 1415 Edgell Road in Framingham.
6:30 pm Suggested arrival time at Nobscot.
On arrival check in with the camp ranger at the main gate.
The first parking lot just inside the main gate is for day parking.
The next lot just beyond is for overnight parking. Park in the overnight
lot and carry the gear about 0.2 miles to the Peabody campsite. See
the Nobscot map above.
Supper on your own
6:30-8pm Set up camp
9:45-10pm Prepare for bed
11pm-6am Quiet hours
Saturday, May 1
1415 Edgell Road
Framingham, MA 01701-5015
6:45am Wake up
6:45-7:45am Eat breakfast and clean your personal mess kits
8:15am Drive 30 minutes down Route 20 (North on Nobscot Road.) to
the Lexington Battle Green, 1875 Massachusetts Avenue, Lexington, MA. Driving
Sons of Liberty Trail
Hikers pack their day pack
Receive instructions about today
Divide into groups with adult leaders
Put day packs into cars
Map and Park Map. Follows part of the Battle
Public restrooms are at the visitor centers.
Visitor Center, open 9am to 5pm.
Lexington Battle Green
view diorama of the Battle of Lexington
Tavern Located on Lexington Common at 1
Bedford Street. This tavern was the headquarters of the Lexington
Minutemen. Several dozen minutemen waited here for the British soldiers
to arrive in Lexington. The old front door has a bullet hole made
by a British musket ball during the battle.
House, home of Rev. John Hancock who is the grandfather of John Hancock,
the first signer of the Declaration of Independence. Located 1/4
mile from Buckman Tavern on Hancock Street (optional).
Man Visitor Center, Exit 30B off of Route 128/I-95, Route 2A, Lexington.
Open 9am to 5pm. Restrooms.
statue, which represents Col. John Parker commanding the Minute Men,
facing the line of the British approach.
Jonathan Harrington was a Minuteman who was mortally wounded at Lexington
Green. He crawled across the Green to the doorstep of his home
where he died in the arms of his wife.
Boulder. Inscribed on the boulder are Captain Parker's words
to his men in 1775: "Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon,
but if they mean to have a war let it begin here." An imaginary line
drawn from the boulder to the Revolutionary
War Monument represents the battle line of the Minutemen in 1775.
The Old Burial Ground.
Hayward’s Well, who challenged a British soldier at his well . . . they
shot and killed each other.
where Paul Revere was captured by British soldiers. At this stretch
of Battle Road, the famous “Midnight Ride of Paul Revere” came to an end.
While passing through Lexington around midnight, Paul Revere and William
Dawes met Dr. Samuel Prescott of Concord, who was riding home after courting
Lydia Mulliken. Dr. Prescott agreed to help spread the alarm that
“the Regulars were out.” The three men ran into a patrol of ten mounted
British officers posted here to prevent word of the British march from
reaching Concord. Paul Revere was captured. William Dawes escaped
back toward Lexington. Dr. Prescott jumped his horse over a stone
wall and eluded his pursuers. It was Dr. Prescott who carried the
alarm to Concord and beyond. Paul Revere was questioned, held for
a while and then released, but the British officers confiscated his horse.
Paul Revere walked back to Lexington in time to hear gunfire at dawn on
the town common.
Angle, a bend in the road where many British soldiers were killed or
wounded in an ambush.
Corner, site of another small skirmish.
North Bridge in Concord, where the British were turned back to Boston
See the free "The Road to Revolution" 25 minute theatre presentation shown
every half hour 9am to 4:30pm.
view the 40 foot battle mural
Bridge Visitor Center, 174 Liberty Street, Concord, MA. Open
9am to 5pm.
Join a park ranger for "Two Revolutions", a 20-minute interpretive program
at the Old North Bridge.
7:00pm Group dinner reservation for the New Englander buffet at Bickford's
Free "April Fire", a 12 minute video about the fight at the North Bridge
on April 19, 1775.
9:00pm-9:45pm Evening campfire program (tentative)
11pm-6am Quiet hours
Sunday, May 2
Bickford's is 6 miles (14 minutes) away from Nobscot Scout Reservation.
Cochituate Road. in Framingham, MA, Mass Pike (I-90), exit 13, ½
mile on the right.
Yankee pot roast, roasted chicken quarters, pasta marinara.
Garden salad made from fresh greens and tossed with cherry tomatoes.
Roasted red bliss potatoes, garlic mashed potatoes, fresh green beans almondine,
homemade butternut squash, rolls.
Desserts: gourmet pies, cakes, and cheesecake.
Coffee, tea, soda.
6:30am Wake up
6:30-7:30am Eat breakfast and clean your personal mess kits
7:30am depart for Freedom Trail
Clean the Nobscot Peabody Campsite before checkout. (time to be determined).
Inspection and checkout from Nobscot Peabody Campsite (time to be determined).
Make bag lunches.
Hikers pack their day pack
Receive instructions about today
Put day packs into cars
Subway to the Freedom Trail.
Massachusetts Bay Transit Authority (MBTA, called "The T") operates the
subway, bus, and commuter train system. Inbound is always toward
downtown Boston, and Outbound is away from it. In the subway system, Inbound
is toward four stations: Park Street, State, Downtown Crossing and
Government Center. (Within those four stations, Inbound and Outbound are
Drive 25 minutes to Riverside Station at 390
Grove Street, Newton and park, $2.75 on Sunday, open 24 hours/day.
Take the Green line to Park Street Station.
Subway system Map.
(every 10 minutes, approx. 40 minute ride).
Subway fare is $3.00. Children 5 to 11 years old pay half fare. Exact
change (no bills) or token is required.
Subway to subway transfers (between the Blue, Orange, Red, Green, and Silver
lines) are free.
Public restrooms are at the Old State House, Faneuil Hall, Bunker Hill,
and the Navy Yard.
Bag lunch during the Freedom Trail hike.
Common: The oldest public park in the U.S. British troops
camped on Boston Common prior to the Revolution and left from here to face
colonial resistance at Lexington and Concord on April 18, 1775. Public
hangings took place here until 1817, and cattle and sheep grazed the Common
until 1830. Free. Make certain you obtain the signature
of the receptionist at the Freedom Trail booth on Boston Common on your
copy of the Freedom
Trail Hike Credential form.
State House: Beacon Street at Park Street. The Massachusetts
State House on Beacon Hill has long been one of the city's main landmarks.
The cornerstone for the building was laid in 1795 in a ceremony overseen
by Governor Samuel Adams and Paul Revere, the Grand Master of the Masons.
The building was completed in 1798. The building stands on land once
owned by colonial Boston's wealthiest merchant, John Hancock who was also
Massachusetts' first elected governor. The dome was originally covered
with wooden shingles, and in 1802 was sheathed in copper manufactured by
Paul Revere. It is now covered by 23 karat gold. Free tours
available. Open Monday-Friday 10am-4pm. CLOSED Sunday.
Granary Burial Grounds: Park and Tremont Streets. This
1660 cemetery is the final resting place for a host of historical figures
including three signers of the Declaration of Independence (a large pillar
marks John Hancock's grave), eight governors, five victims of the Boston
Massacre, and the parents of Benjamin Franklin. Along the rear path,
a square monument
of white marble marks the grave of silversmith, midnight rider, and industrialist
Paul Revere. Open daily 9:00am to 5:00pm. Free.
Street Church: Park Street and Tremont Street. Built in
1809 on the site of the old town granary where grain was kept before the
Revolution. This Evangical Church of "firsts" is the location of
the first Sunday school in 1818 and the first prison aid in 1824.
On July 4, 1829, William Lloyd Garrison gave his first public anti-slavery
speech here and two years later, "My Country 'Tis of Thee" was sung for
the first time by the church children's choir. CLOSED except
open July and August for historical tours. Free, donations accepted.
Chapel: Tremont and School Streets. The first Episcopal
church in Boston, it became the first Unitarian church in America after
the Revolution. In 1816 a bell for the church, weighing more than
one ton, was cast at the Revere Foundry. Paul Revere called it "the
sweetest bell we ever made." Today, the bell is rung by hand for
all church services and special occasions. The interior of the church
is elegant and one of the most beautiful in New England. The pulpit
and its sounding board date from 1717 and were once used in the original
wood chapel. The King's Chapel Burying Ground is the oldest burying
place in Boston proper. The burying ground is the final resting place
for many colonists including John Winthrop, the first governor of the Massachusetts
Bay Colony; Hezekiah Usher, the colony's first printer; and Mary Chilton
who arrived on the Mayflower in 1620. Open daily 9am to 5pm.
Free, voluntary donations accepted.
Public School site and Benjamin
Franklin’s Statue: School Street. Established in 1635 by
Puritan settlers, Boston Latin school was attended by Samuel Adams, John
Hancock, Benjamin Franklin, Cotton Mather and other noted historical figures.
Franklin's place of birth is just one block away on Milk Street, across
from the Old South Meeting House. A portrait statue of Benjamin Franklin
is across the street from the First Public School site. This statue
was the first portrait statue erected in the United States.
Corner Bookstore: Corner of School and Washington Streets.
The Bookstore was built in 1712 and was Boston's first apothecary shop.
It is one of Boston's oldest surviving structures. Many famous books
were published here including The Scarlet Letter, Walden,
and the Atlantic Monthly magazine. Writers Nathaniel Hawthorne,
Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Harriet Beecher Stowe,
Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Henry David Thoreau often gathered at the Old
Corner Bookstore, as did their English counterparts, including Charles
Dickens. Today The Boston Globe Store which was founded by The Boston
Globe newspaper occupies the building and specializes in New England and
travel books and maps. Open Sunday 12 noon to 5pm. Free.
South Meeting House: 310 Washington Street, corner of Milk and Washington
Streets. The Old South Meeting House was built in 1729 as a Puritan
house of worship and is the second oldest church in Boston. Old South
was the largest building in Colonial Boston and often used for gatherings
that were too large for Faneuil Hall. One such gathering occurred
on March 6, 1775 when patriot leader Dr. Joseph Warren delivered a moving
oration in honor of those killed five years earlier in the Boston Massacre.
The meeting house was packed so tightly for the event that Warren had to
climb in through a window behind the pulpit to make his address.
The Old South Meeting House is best known for the site of where the Boston
Tea Party began. On December 16, 1773 more than 5,000 outraged colonists
gathered at Old South (Faneuil Hall was too small) in a meeting to protest
the tax on tea. After many hours of debate, Samuel Adams announced, "This
meeting can do nothing more to save the country!" Protestors stormed
out of the Old South Meeting House to the waterfront where dressed as Mohawk
Indians they dumped three shiploads (342 chests) of tea into Boston harbor.
During the siege of Boston, the British gutted it, burned the pews, and
used the building as a riding school. Today, the Old South Meeting
House is a museum where they recreate the tea party debates. Allow
about one hour for the tour. Open daily 9:30am to 5:00pm. Admission
- see discount combination ticket information.
Visitor Center (with bathroom).
State House: Corner of State and Washington Streets. Built in
1713 as the first seat of the Colonial goverment and the location of the
British government in Boston. John Hancock, first governor of Massachusetts,
was inaugurated here. In 1766 the Massachusetts Assembly debated
the Stamp Act here. The musuem has artifacts including a suit of
clothes that belonged to John Hancock and the wool flag with nine red and
white stripes that was flown to assemble the Sons of Liberty under Liberty
Tree. More history.
Allow about one hour for the tour. Open 9:00am to 5pm. Admission
fee required - see discount combination ticket information.
Massacre Site: Located in front of the Old State House at the intersection
of Devonshire and State Street. The site is marked by a ring of cobblestones
and shows where the first bloodshed of the American Revolution took place
on March 5, 1770. Tensions between the colonists and British soldiers
erupted into violence on March 5, 1770. A minor dispute between a
wigmaker's young apprentice and a British sentry turned into a riot. The
relief soldiers that came to the aid of the British were met by an angry
crowd of colonists who hurled snowballs, rocks, clubs, and insults. The
soldiers fired into the crowd and killed five colonists. Samuel Adams and
other patriots called the event a "massacre". The victims were
buried in a common grave at the Old Granary Burying Ground. Paul
Revere's famous engraving of the Massacre, although inaccurate, served
as great propaganda for the patriot cause. No admission fee.
Hall: Built in 1742 the hall has been a meeting place upstairs
and a marketplace downstairs ever since. The fourth floor is now
the home of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company Museum. Here,
the colonists protested "taxation without representation," gathering to
speak out against the Stamp Act, Townshend Acts, and the landing of the
British troops. High atop Faneuil Hall is a unique grasshopper weather
vane built by in 1742. Constructed of copper and gold leaf, with
glass doorknobs for eyes, it measures 52 inches long and weighs 38 pounds.
It was modeled after a similar weather vane that sat atop the Royal Exchange
in London. The Faneuil Hall grasshopper has turned in the breeze
above the Boston skyline for over 250 years, and is one of the city's most
cherished symbols. National Park Service Rangers present free historical
talks every thirty minutes from 9:30am to 4:30pm. Open daily 9am-5pm.
No admission fee.
Revere House: 19 North Square in Boston's North End is the Paul Revere
House. Built in 1680 it is the oldest building in downtown Boston.
Paul Revere bought the house in 1770 and worked as a silversmith at his
own shop that was two blocks away. From this house on the evening
of April 18, 1775 Paul Revere, a messenger rider and member of the Sons
of Liberty, left for his famous midnight
ride to Lexington. After 1792 he cast bells, including one for
Boston's King's Chapel that still rings today. In 1801, he opened
the first copper rolling mill in North America where he produced copper
sheeting for the hull of the U.S.S. Constitution and for the dome of the
new Massachusetts State House in 1803. Inside the house you can view
samples of his silver work, and in the courtyard you will see a 900 pound
bronze bell cast at the Revere Foundry in 1804. Allow about one hour
for the tour. Open 9:30am-5:15pm. Admission fee required
- see discount combination ticket information.
North Church: 193 Salem Street. This Episcopal church
was built in 1723 as a “House of prayer for all people”, and is still an
active Episcopal church. It is Boston's oldest church building, and
its 191 feet tall steeple is the tallest steeple in Boston. The walls
are over 2 1/2 feet thick. The oldest bells in North America are
at The Old North Church. They were cast in 1744 and are still rung
regularly. Paul Revere was one of the bellringers. These bells
to ring at 11:55 a.m. on Sunday, May 2, 2004. On the
evening of April 18, 1775 from the northwest window of the steeple, sexton
Robert Newman held two lanterns (one if by land, and two if by sea) aloft
to warn the patriots in Charlestown of the British troops' march to Concord.
This signal, the brainchild of Paul Revere, occurred as he was being rowed
across the Charles River to begin his Midnight Ride. Visitors to
Old North today can view the window near the altar that Robert Newman climbed
out after he displayed the lanterns. The inside of the church has
changed very little over the past 250 years. The high box pews have
plaques bearing the names of their original occupants. Two brass
chandeliers with 12 candles on each hang above the central aisle and have
illuminated the church for evening services since 1724. Open daily
9am-5pm: Sunday services conducted 9am and 4pm. No admission
fee required, but voluntary donations are welcome.
Hill Burying Ground: Located on the highest piece of land in
the North End, Copp's Hill Burying Ground is Boston's second oldest cemetery.
It became a burial ground in 1660, and is named after 17th-century shoemaker
William Copp, the property's original owner. In colonial Boston,
Copp's Hill was much higher, extending as a cliff to the water's edge.
Standing atop this cliff, one could view several of the town's shipyards
and wharves, and see Charlestown just across the Charles River. From
this location in June 1775 British troops bombarded Charlestown during
the Battle of Bunker Hill. In 1807 the upper section of Copp's Hill
was removed and used as landfill for Mill Pond. When British troops
were encamped on Copp's Hill they used the grave markers of patriots they
disliked for target practice. Today, their musket ball marks can be clearly
seen on the marker of Captain Daniel Malcom, a member of the Sons of Liberty.
Malcom, who died in 1769, asked to be buried "in a Stone Grave 10 feet
deep" safe from British bullets. This request is noted on his headstone.
Notable people buried at Copp's Hill are Robert Newman, the Christ Church
sexton who displayed the signal lanterns; Prince Hall, a freed slave and
founder of the African Grand Lodge of Massachusetts; Increase and Cotton
Mather, Puritan ministers; and Edmund Hartt, builder of the USS Constitution.
Open daily 9am to 5pm. Free.
Hill Monument: Probably the most confusing thing about the Battle
of Bunker Hill is that it was fought on Breed’s Hill. Bunker Hill
was a larger, more dominant hill in Charlestown, but the Americans decided
to fortify Breed’s Hill instead. The Bunker Hill monument stands
atop Breed’s Hill. The battle was fought here on June 17, 1775, about
a month after Lexington and Concord. Control of the high ground near
the harbor was important to the British occupation of Boston. When
colonial forces chose to fortify Charlestown, they bypassed the more dominant
Bunker Hill and dug in on Breed's Hill which was lower and closer to the
water. "Don't fire until you see the whites of their eyes" is the
legendary order attributed to Colonel William Prescott to make sure that
each shot would count. The poorly trained and ill prepared colonial
forces repelled two major assaults by the British Army before retreating.
Almost half of the British soldiers were either killed or injured.
Although the colonists lost the battle, their bravery and strong showing
against the British encouraged them to fight on. Patriot leader Dr.
Joseph Warren was killed during the third assault. Visitors may
climb the monument's 294 steps (no elevator) for a view of Boston and the
harbor. Open for climbing daily 9am to 4:30pm. Exhibit open
daily 9am to 5pm. Admission is free.
Boston Harbor Ferry and subway.
The USS Constitution is the oldest commissioned warship in the world.
The Constitution is one of the first ships of the U. S. Navy. It
was one of six ships ordered for construction by George Washington to protect
America's growing maritime interests. Launched in 1797 from the Boston
Navy Yard she sailed against the Barbary pirates and fought the British
in the War of 1812. The ship's greatest glory came during the War
of 1812 when she defeated four British frigates and earned the nickname
"Old Ironsides" because cannon balls glanced off her thick live oak hull.
Live oak is five times stronger than white oak, and made the hull of the
ship incredibly strong. The USS Constitution was in forty battles
and was never beaten. The ship will be open from 10:00 a.m. to 3:50
p.m. Guided tours are available every half-hour beginning at
10:30, with the last tour beginning at 3:30. Each half-hour tour is led
by one of the ship's active-duty Navy crew members, and is designed to
bring visitors face-to-face with the ship's storied history, her construction
and the men and women who sailed her from historic battles to today.
A new speed line option has been implemented to give visitors the option
of bypassing the tour line and exploring the top deck of the ship only.
The speed line is designed to get visitors onboard the ship within ten
minutes, and provides for photo opportunities and interaction with the
ship's crew. Visitors who opt for the speed line will not be able to take
part in the guided tour without rejoining the tour line for the next scheduled
tour. A streamlined new security policy, designed to get visitors
through screening more quickly, includes that knives must be under 2 1/2
inches, or shall be confiscated. The ship's entire security policy, as
well as complete information regarding touring hours and events, can be
found on its official web site, www.oldironsides.com No admission
USS Constitution Museum. Open daily 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
No admission fee.
Everyone is required to go through a security check before boarding the
ship. Allow at least 30 minutes for this. A list of banned
materials is in the Visitor
Make certain you obtain the signature of the Officer on duty
at the USS Constitution on your copy of the Freedom
Trail Hike Credential form.
Leave from the Riverside Station to drive home. (time to be decided)
Supper on your own.
Monday, May 3
Ride back on the "F4" ferry from the Charlestown Navy Yard (Pier 4 near
the USS Constitution) in Charlestown to Long Wharf in Boston.
Ferry system Map
and Sunday F4 ferry Schedule
(every half hour, 10-minute ride).
One way ferry ticket costs $1.50. Children 5 to 11 years old costs
Then take the subway (map)
back to Riverside Station:
from the Blue Line Aquarium Station at Long Wharf, take the Blue Line to
Government Center and then transfer to the Green Line to Riverside Station.
Set up tent to dry and clean it
Clean troop cooking gear
7:30pm Return clean, dry tent and troop cooking gear to Quartermaster
at Troop meeting
Trail food - Bring your own from home
The troop will have stoves, coffee, tea, and half-and-half.
Bickford's Family Restaurant in Framingham
Boy Scout Troop 174, Yorktown, NY. http://troop174.net